Menu Close
William Hill - Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets

Wigan Athletic FC

/ Club Guide

About the Club

Wigan Athletic FC Badge

In Brief

Founded: 1932
Turned Professional: 1978

Current Division: EFL League One
Home Stadium: DW Stadium
Address: Loire Drive, Robin Park, Wigan, Greater Manchester WN5 0UH

Nickname: The Latics
Main Sponsors 2019/20: KB88
Club Mascots: Phoenix and Blue

Derby Matches

Bolton Wanderers

Official 2019/20 Kits by Puma


Wigan Athletic FC - Official 2019/20 Home Kit

Blue shirt with white pinstripes and green trim. Blue shorts with white detailing. Blue socks with green trim and white detailing.


Wigan Athletic FC - Official 2019/20 Away Kit

Red shirt with hexagonal print and navy blue trim. Red shorts with navy detailing. Red socks with navy trim.

History and Honours

Stadium History

DW Stadium (1999-Present) / View Stadium
Springfield Park (1932-1999)

Club Honours

League 1 Champions: 2015/16, 2017/18
Division 2 (3rd Tier) Champions: 2002/03
Division 3 (4th Tier) Champions: 1996/97
FA Cup Winners: 2012/13
Football League Trophy Winners: 1984/85, 1998/99
Northern Premier League Champions: 1970/71, 1974/75
Northern Premier League Cup Winners: 1971/72
Northern Premier League Shield Winners: 1972/73, 1973/74, 1975/76
Northern Floodlit League Champions: 1966/67
Lancashire Senior Cup Winners: 1984/85, 1991/92, 1998/99
Lancashire Floodlit Cup Winners: 1966/67, 1970/71, 1972/73

Vintage Football Shirts - Buy Original Retro Football Shirts
1st Team Squad 2019/20

Leon Balogun (Defender, On loan from Brighton & Hove Albion) /  Soccerbase  
Nathan Byrne (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Alex Dobre (Midfielder, On loan from AFC Bournemouth) /  Soccerbase  
Kieran Dowell (Midfielder, On loan from Everton) /  Soccerbase  
Cheyenne Dunkley (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Lee Evans (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Daniel Fox (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Joe Garner (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Joe Gelhardt (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Michael Jacobs (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Jamie Jones (Goalkeeper) /  Soccerbase  
Cedric Kipre (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Jamal Lowe (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Lewis MacLeod (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
David Marshall (Goalkeeper) /  Soccerbase  
Gavin Massey (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Christopher Merrie (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Jan Mlakar (Forward, On loan from Brighton & Hove Albion) /  Soccerbase  
Kieffer Moore (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Sam Morsy (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Kal Naismith (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Tom Pearce (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Anthony Pilkington (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Gary Roberts (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Antonee Robinson (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Dujon Sterling (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Jensen Weir (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Joe Williams (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  

Club Staff


Life President: Dave Whelan
Executive Chairman: Darren Royle
Directors: Joe Royle, Thomas Chan
Chief Executive: Jonathan Jackson
Honorary President: Brenda Spencer

Management & Coaching Staff

Caretaker Manager: Leam Richardson (Age 41 years) / Appointed 13th November 2020 (2 months, 7 days ago) /  Soccerbase  
Goalkeeping Coach: Nick Colgan

Former Managers

John Sheridan (Sep 2020-Nov 2020) /  Soccerbase  
Paul Cook (May 2017-Aug 2020) /  Soccerbase  
Warren Joyce (Nov 2016-Mar 2017) /  Soccerbase  
Gary Caldwell (Apr 2015-Oct 2016) /  Soccerbase  
Malky Mackay (Nov 2014-Apr 2015) /  Soccerbase  
Uwe Rosler (Dec 2013-Nov 2014) /  Soccerbase  
Owen Coyle (Jun 2013-Dec 2013) /  Soccerbase  
Roberto Martinez (Jun 2009-Jun 2013) /  Soccerbase  
Steve Bruce (Nov 2007-Jun 2009) /  Soccerbase  
Chris Hutchings (May 2007-Nov 2007) /  Soccerbase  
Paul Jewell (Jun 2001-May 2007) /  Soccerbase  
Bruce Rioch (Jun 2000-Feb 2001) /  Soccerbase  
John Benson (May 1999-Jun 2000) /  Soccerbase  
Ray Mathias (Aug 1998-May 1999) /  Soccerbase  
John Deehan (Aug 1995-Jun 1998) /  Soccerbase  
Graham Barrow (Aug 1994-Aug 1995) /  Soccerbase  
Kenny Swain (May 1993-Aug 1994) /  Soccerbase  
Bryan Hamilton (Mar 1989-May 1993) /  Soccerbase  
Ray Mathias (Jun 1986-Mar 1989) /  Soccerbase  
Harry McNally
Larry Lloyd
Ian McNeill
Brian Tiler
Les Rigby
Gordon Milne
Alan Saunders
Harry Leyland
Alf Craig
Allan Brown
Johnny Ball
Allenby Chilton
Pat Murphy
Jimmy Shirley
Malcolm Barrass
Trevor Hitchen
Sam Barkas
Billy Cooke
Ron Suart
Walter Crook
Ted Goodier
Bob Pryde
Jimmy Milne
Charlie Spencer

BT Sport - Watch Premier League, Champions League, Europa League and FA Cup Football
Trainline - Book Train Tickets
Club Media

Official Websites

/ Website:
/ Online Store:
/ Ticket Information:
/ Buy Tickets:
Wigan Athletic FC - Official EFL iFollow  / EFL iFollow:
/ Stadium Website:

Official Social Media

Wigan Athletic FC - Official Facebook  / Facebook:
Wigan Athletic FC - Official Instagram  / Instagram:
Wigan Athletic FC - Official Twitter  / Twitter:
Wigan Athletic FC - Official YouTube  / YouTube:

Official Apps

/ Club App: (iOS Universal (iPhone, iPad and iPod touch))

Local Radio Stations

/ BBC Radio Lancashire: (95.5, 103.9 & 104.5 FM / 855 & 1557 MW / 12A (223.936MHz) DAB)
/ BBC Radio Manchester: (95.1 & 104.6 FM / 12C (227.360MHz) DAB)

Club Trivia

Famous Supporters

Stuart Maconie: (TV presenter, radio DJ, writer and journalist)  / Twitter: @StuartMaconie
Paul Rowley: (Political correspondent)  / Twitter: @PaulRowleyBBC

WOW Tickets - Buy and Sell Match Tickets