Menu Close
William Hill - Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets

Watford FC

/ Club Guide

About the Club

Watford FC Badge

In Brief

Founded: 1881 as Watford Rovers
Turned Professional: 1897

Current Division: EFL Championship
Home Stadium: Vicarage Road
Address: Watford, Hertfordshire WD18 0ER

Nickname: The Hornets
Main Sponsors 2019/20:
Club Mascot: Harry the Hornet

Derby Matches

Luton Town

Official 2019/20 Kits by Adidas


Watford FC - Official 2019/20 Home Kit

Black and yellow halved shirt with red trim. Black shorts with red trim. Yellow socks with red trim and detailing.


Watford FC - Official 2019/20 Away Kit

Two-tone blue shirt with subtle dotted pattern and white trim. Blue shorts and socks with white trim.


Watford FC - Official 2019/20 Third Kit

Two-tone green shirt with lime green trim. Green shorts and socks with lime green trim.

History and Honours

Previous Names

Watford Rovers (1881-1893)
West Herts (1893-1898)

Stadium History

Vicarage Road (1922-Present) / View Stadium
Cassio Road (1890-1922)
Colney Butts Meadow (1889-1890)
Rose & Crown Meadow (1883-1889)
Vicarage Meadow (1882-1883)
Cassiobury Park (1881-1882)

Club Honours

Championship Play-Off Winners: 2005/06
Division 1 (2nd Tier) Play-Off Winners: 1998/99
Division 2 (3rd Tier) Champions: 1997/98
Division 3 Champions: 1968/69
Division 4 Champions: 1977/78
Southern League Champions: 1914/15

Vintage Football Shirts - Buy Original Retro Football Shirts
1st Team Squad 2019/20

Daniel Bachmann (Goalkeeper) /  Soccerbase  
Etienne Capoue (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Craig Cathcart (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Nathaniel Chalobah (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Tom Cleverley (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Craig Dawson (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Troy Deeney (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Tom Dele-Bashiru (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Gerard Deulofeu (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Abdoulaye Doucoure (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Kiko Femenia (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Michael Folivi (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Ben Foster (Goalkeeper) /  Soccerbase  
Heurelho Gomes (Goalkeeper) /  Soccerbase  
Andre Gray (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Jose Holebas (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Will Hughes (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Darryl Janmaat (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Christian Kabasele (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Adrian Mariappa (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Adam Masina (Defender) /  Soccerbase  
Joao Pedro (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Roberto Pereyra (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Ignacio Pussetto (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Domingos Quina (Midfielder) /  Soccerbase  
Ismaila Sarr (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Isaac Success (Forward) /  Soccerbase  
Danny Welbeck (Forward) /  Soccerbase  

Club Staff


Owner: Gino Pozzo
Honorary Life Presidents: Sir Elton John CBE, Graham Taylor OBE (listed in honour)
Chairman & Chief Executive Officer: Scott Duxbury
Non-Executive Directors: David Fransen, Stuart Timperley
Commercial Director: Spencer Field
Community Director: Rob Smith
Operations Director: Glyn Evans

Management & Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Xisco Munoz (Age 40 years) / Appointed 21st December 2020 (1 month, 6 days ago) /  Soccerbase  
Assistant Head Coach: Roberto Cuesta
Goalkeeping Coach: Antonello Brambilla

Former Managers

Vladimir Ivic (Aug 2020-Dec 2020) /  Soccerbase  
Nigel Pearson (Dec 2019-Jul 2020) /  Soccerbase  
Quique Sanchez Flores (Sep 2019-Dec 2019) /  Soccerbase  
Javi Gracia (Jan 2018-Sep 2019) /  Soccerbase  
Marco Silva (May 2017-Jan 2018) /  Soccerbase  
Walter Mazzarri (Jul 2016-May 2017) /  Soccerbase  
Slavisa Jokanovic (Oct 2014-Jun 2015) /  Soccerbase  
Billy McKinlay (Sep 2014-Oct 2014) /  Soccerbase  
Oscar Garcia (Sep 2014) /  Soccerbase  
Giuseppe Sannino (Dec 2013-Aug 2014) /  Soccerbase  
Gianfranco Zola (Jul 2012-Dec 2013) /  Soccerbase  
Sean Dyche (Jun 2011-Jul 2012) /  Soccerbase  
Malky Mackay (Jun 2009-Jun 2011) /  Soccerbase  
Brendan Rodgers (Nov 2008-Jun 2009) /  Soccerbase  
Adrian Boothroyd (Mar 2005-Nov 2008) /  Soccerbase  
Ray Lewington (Jun 2002-Mar 2005) /  Soccerbase  
Gianluca Vialli (May 2001-Jun 2002) /  Soccerbase  
Graham Taylor (Jun 1997-May 2001) /  Soccerbase  
Kenny Jackett (Jun 1996-Jun 1997) /  Soccerbase  
Glenn Roeder (Jul 1993-Feb 1996) /  Soccerbase  
Steve Perryman (Nov 1990-Jul 1993) /  Soccerbase  
Colin Lee (Mar 1990-Nov 1990) /  Soccerbase  
Steve Harrison (Jan 1988-Mar 1990) /  Soccerbase  
Dave Bassett (May 1987-Jan 1988) /  Soccerbase  
Mike Keen
George Kirby
Ken Furphy
Bill McGarry
Ron Burgess
Neil McBain
Len Goulden
Johnny Paton
Haydn Green
Ron Gray
Eddie Hapgood
Jack Bray
Bill Findlay
Fred Pagnam
Harry Kent
John Goodall

BT Sport - Watch Premier League, Champions League, Europa League and FA Cup Football
Trainline - Book Train Tickets
Club Media

Official Websites

/ Website:
/ Online Store:
/ Ticket Information:
/ Buy Tickets:
/ Disabled Access Guide:
/ WFC Enables Disabled Supporters:
/ Fan Guide:
/ Supporters Trust:

Official Social Media

Watford FC - Official Facebook  / Facebook:
Watford FC - Official Instagram  / Instagram:
Watford FC - Official Twitter  / Twitter:
Watford FC - Official YouTube  / YouTube:

Official Apps

/ Matchday Programmes App: (iOS Universal (iPhone, iPad and iPod touch))

Local Radio Stations

/ BBC Three Counties Radio: (95.5, 103.8 & 104.5 FM / 630 & 1161 MW / 10D (215.072MHz) DAB)

Club Trivia

Famous Supporters

Elton John: (Pianist, singer-songwriter and composer)  / Website:  / Twitter: @eltonofficial
Anthony Joshua: (Professional boxer)  / Website:  / Twitter: @anthonyfjoshua
Adam Leventhal: (TV presenter and journalist)  / Twitter: @AdamLeventhal
Craig Mackail-Smith: (Professional footballer)  / Twitter: @12cms12

WOW Tickets - Buy and Sell Match Tickets