Menu Close
William Hill - Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets

Barnsley FC

/ Club Guide

About the Club

Barnsley FC Badge

In Brief

Founded: 1887 as Barnsley St. Peters
Turned Professional: 1888

Current Division: EFL Championship
Home Stadium: Oakwell
Address: Grove Street, Barnsley, South Yorkshire S71 1ET

Nicknames: The Tykes, Tarn
Main Sponsors 2021/22: The Investment Room
Club Mascot: Toby Tyke

Official 2021/22 Kits by Puma


Barnsley FC - Official 2021/22 Home Kit


Barnsley FC - Official 2021/22 Away Kit


Barnsley FC - Official 2021/22 Third Kit

History and Honours

Previous Names

Barnsley St. Peters (1887-1897)

Stadium History

Oakwell (1887-Present) / View Stadium

Club Honours

League 1 Play-Off Winners: 2005/06, 2015/16
Division 3 North Champions: 1933/34, 1938/39, 1954/55
FA Cup Winners: 1911/12
Football League Trophy Winners: 2015/16

Vintage Football Shirts - Buy Original Retro Football Shirts
Club Staff

Management & Coaching Staff

Head Coach: Markus Schopp (Age 48 years) / Appointed 29th June 2021 (1 year, 1 day ago) /  Soccerbase  
Assistant Coaches: Joseph Laumann, Tonda Eckert
Goalkeeping Coach: Kevin Pilkington

Former Managers

Valerien Ismael (Oct 2020-Jun 2021) /  Soccerbase  
Gerhard Struber (Nov 2019-Oct 2020) /  Soccerbase  
Adam Murray (Caretaker Manager, Oct 2019-Nov 2019) /  Soccerbase  
Daniel Stendel (Jun 2018-Oct 2019) /  Soccerbase  
Jose Morais (Feb 2018-May 2018) /  Soccerbase  
Paul Harsley (Caretaker Manager, Feb 2018) /  Soccerbase  
Paul Heckingbottom (Feb 2016-Feb 2018) /  Soccerbase  
Lee Johnson (Feb 2015-Feb 2016) /  Soccerbase  
Mark Burton (Caretaker Manager, Feb 2015) /  Soccerbase  
Paul Heckingbottom (Caretaker Manager, Feb 2015) /  Soccerbase  
Danny Wilson (Dec 2013-Feb 2015) /  Soccerbase  
Micky Mellon (Caretaker Manager, Nov 2013-Dec 2013) /  Soccerbase  
David Flitcroft
Keith Hill
Mark Robins
Simon Davey
Andy Ritchie
Paul Hart
Gudjon Thordarson
Glyn Hodges (Caretaker Manager)
Steve Parkin
Nigel Spackman
Eric Winstanley (Caretaker Manager)
Dave Bassett
John Hendrie
Viv Anderson
Mel Machin
Allan Clarke
Norman Hunter
Jim Iley
Johnny Steele
John McSeveney
Tim Ward
Angus Seed
Brough Fletcher
Arthur Fairclough
John Commins
Peter Sant
Percy Lewis
John Hastie
Arthur Fairclough
John McCartney

BT Sport - Watch Premier League, Champions League, Europa League and FA Cup Football
Trainline - Book Train Tickets
Club Media

Local Radio Stations

/ BBC Radio Sheffield: (88.6 & 104.1 FM / 1035 MW / 11C (220.352MHz) DAB)

Club Trivia

Famous Supporters

Dickie Bird: (Retired cricket umpire)  / Website: 
Darren Gough: (Former Yorkshire and England cricketer)  / Twitter: @DGoughie
Michael Parkinson: (Broadcaster) 

WOW Tickets - Buy and Sell Match Tickets